The Gilchrist County Board of County Commissioners, in and for Gilchrist County, Florida, convened in a special joint meeting with the cities of Bell, Fanning Springs, and Trenton, in the Pavilion, located at Hart Springs Park, Trenton, Florida, with the following members present to-wit:

Wilbur Bush, Chairman

V. C. Cannon

Jimmie Sheffield

Sue B. Suggs

Fred Wilkerson

Other persons in attendance were: Jackie R. Barron, Ex-Officio Clerk, Ron McQueen, Emergency Management/County Coordinator, Sherree Pitzarell, Deputy Clerk, Cloud Haley, George McMath, Terry Parrish, Bill Clifton, and Charlotte Kearney, Trenton City Council Members, Kathryn Deen, Trenton City Manager, Bill Whitley, Trenton City Attorney, Harold Sanders, Iris Roberts and Peggy Sapp, Bell Town Council Members, Jesse Arnold, Bell Town Manager, Carol McQueen, Cheryl Nekola, and Phyllis Dinsmore, Fanning Springs City Council Members, Sam Ferguson, Hart Springs Park Manager, Joe Blanchard, consultant, D. Ray Harrison, Property Appraiser, Gary Reeser, cartographer, and Jim Cooper, Gilchrist County Sheriff's Department.

Mr. McQueen distributed a spreadsheet to those in attendance, and asked Mr. Barron to explain the formula which was used to estimate local option gas taxes. Mr. Barron stated that the distribution of local option gas taxes is determined by the last five years of transportation expenditures for the cities and the county. Ms. Deen, Trenton City Manager, asked Mr. Barron why the debt service item was removed from the City of Trenton's transportation expenditures. Mr. Barron replied that debt service for prior years is not reflective of the city's current transportation expenditures. The formula is re-visited every 10 years to determine the distribution, however, it can be re-evaluated more frequently. Trenton Commissioner Terry Parrish stated that he would like to see the formula evaluated very 5 years, rather than 10 years.

Following discussion, it was agreed that each city/town will discuss the formula and gas tax distribution with their respective boards and get back with the county. Mr. Barron stated that the deadline for submitting the new formula is either June 1st or June 30th.

The Board recessed for dinner and reconvened at 8:00 p.m., with the following additional attendees: Joe Myers, Skip Douglas, and Eric Gentry, Division of Emergency Management.

Mr. Joe Myers, Director of the state Division of Emergency Management, introduced his staff and explained that they will be visiting each county, and as many municipalities in the state of Florida, as possible. He spoke to the group about the Division of Emergency Management Mission; to ensure that Florida is prepared to respond to emergencies, recover from them and mitigate their impacts.

Mr. Myers stated that the county and municipalities should identify their strengths and weaknesses and formulate a 5 year plan of action. In order to develop a good emergency response plan, each person participating should know their own role and responsibilities, and communicate with each other. Mr. Myers announced that the competitive grant process will begin soon, and encouraged those in attendance to apply for funding.

Following the presentation of slides, the meeting adjourned at 9:15 p.m.